The Man Who Loved Islands *Blog Tour*

the man who loved islands cover

I am really pleased to be part of the blog tour for this final chapter in David Ross’ fabulous trilogy. Many thanks to Anne Cater at  randomthingsthroughmyletterbox and to Karen at Orenda Books for sending me a copy of the book.

 

In the early ’80s, Bobby Cassidy and Joey Miller were inseparable; childhood friends and fledgling business associates. Now, both are depressed and lonely, and they haven’t spoken to each other in more than ten years. A bizarre opportunity to honour the memory of someone close to both of them presents itself, if only they can forgive … and forget.

Absurdly funny, deeply moving and utterly human, The Man Who Loved Islands is an unforgettable finale to the Disco Days trilogy.

 

The Man Who Loved Islands is the final book in the trilogy about working class life in Scotland in the 1980s. In this book we are transported forward to the present day and the starry-eyed lads are now middle-aged men with lives falling apart: collapsed relationships, failing health and depression taking hold.

Bobby Cassidy has been living in Ibiza and Joey Miller, his erstwhile best friend, has travelled the world over with his job; but neither is happy and neither has spoken to the other for 10 years. When another friend Hammy May, conspires to bring the two together it starts a new chapter in their lives and with the help of the impossible Max Mojo they embark on re-uniting The legendary Miraculous Vespas for a one-off music festival.

I have read and loved both the previous books:   The Last Days of disco review here which was one of my top 10 books of 2015 and The Rise and Fall of the Miraculous vespas review here  so I was obviously looking forward to this final book, and it was like meeting up with old friends. Friends who have had trials and tribulations but are essentially still the people you know and love.

David Ross definitely has a way of putting the human into his characters, they live and breathe, and you feel every emotion with them. He is totally in tune with the zeitgeist of the 80s and the mood of working class boys and men: their arguments and banter, but also their fierce loyalty and need for each other.

The final book is a fitting end to the story of Bobby and his family and friends, perfectly told in tone and pace. The humour in amongst the sadness; the wit and charm; the music – everywhere the music; but above all the love, tenderness and friendship.

A perfect human trilogy. I can’t wait to see what David F. Ross does next.

 

David Ross photo 2

David’s Bio

I was born in Glasgow in 1964 and I lived in various part of the city until the late 70’s. I subsequently moved to Kilmarnock where I have lived since. Following a frankly ludicrous early foray into sporadic employment (Undertakers, Ice Cream Parlour, Tennis Groundsman, DJ…I’ll save these stories until I know you better) I found myself at Glasgow School of Art, studying architecture. I am now the Design Director of Keppie Design.

I have worked all over the world and I led our practice strategy for projects in countries as diverse as China, Egypt, Malaysia, India and Libya. I am a designated business leader for East Ayrshire Council, a Board Mentor for Entrepreneurial Spark and I was design advisor to Strathclyde Passenger Transport for their modernisation programme of the Glasgow Subway in advance of the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

I’m married to Elaine and I have two children, Nathan and Nadia.  I’m a Chelsea fan – from long before the cash-rich days – and I occasionally write stream of consciousness rubbish for @ByTheMinSport feeds on Twitter.

My most prized possession is a signed Joe Strummer LP, and The Last Days Of Disco is my first novel.

Don’t forget to follow the rest of the blog tour!!

new blog poster

Leave a Reply

