Q&A with Monica Wood, author of The One-In-A-Million Boy

the one in a million boy

 

This book is my favourite book of the year so far and if you want to read my review it is here .

I am absolutely delighted to have Monica answer some questions on the blog today.

monica wood

 

1)      Welcome Monica, can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

 

This is my fifth novel, sixth book. Plus I’ve written three books for aspiring writers. I live in Maine, where I was born and raised. I have a husband/teammate, many friends and family here, lots of beloved nieces/nephews, and a 16-yr-old cat named Minnie.

 

2)      What was the inspiration behind The One-In-A-Million Boy?

That one I’m not sure about. I wrote a failed short story many years ago that had a version of Ona in it, but other than that, all I can say is that the story simply arrived. That happens sometimes.

 

3)      The boy in the title is never named which I think was genius, but was there any special reasoning behind that?

I tried to name him many times, but eventually I realized that because he is gone from the world he is more of a presence than an actual person. To name him seemed too literal and wrong.

 

4)      Music runs through the book because of Quinn, do you have a particular love of music?

Who doesn’t love music, right? But I come from a long line of Irish-lineage music lovers. My brother is a lifelong musician, and I also performed for a while in my thirties. I’m entering my sixties now.

 

5)      How did your writing career come about? Have you always wanted to be a writer?

I always wrote stories, ever since early childhood, but I didn’t get started in earnest until my early thirties. I took a writing workshop and the rest is … well, the rest.

 

6)      How do you write? Are you a meticulous planner or do you just start to write and see how it goes?

No planning at all. I just follow the words. After about 100 pages I start to realize what I’m writing. Then I start all over from scratch. I wish there were a shortcut. For me, there isn’t.

 

7)      Do you read a lot and if so what sort of books do you like to read?

I read constantly; part of the job. Right now I’m slogging through THE WARDEN by Anthony Trollope, the complete Sherlock Holmes series, and on my bedside table is THE HATERS by Jesse Andrews and a new nonfiction about Benedict Arnold. I also read a lot about football.

 

8)      If you were having a dinner party which two authors would you invite to join you and why?

George Eliot and Barack Obama. Two bright, engaged, widely educated, curious people from different centuries.

 

9)      Is there a question you always wish people would ask you but never do?

“Would you like a bite of my cake?”

 

You can purchase a copy of the One-In-A-Million Boy here

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions Monica, it is a major highlight for me to have you on my blog. Many thanks.

 

One thought on “Q&A with Monica Wood, author of The One-In-A-Million Boy”

Leave a Reply

